AACN and the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing

WASHINGTON, D.C., September 9, 2013 – Today, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is pleased to announce that five new Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars have been selected through a national scholarship program funded by the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future. Launched to address the faculty shortage and enhance diversity among nurse educators, this AACN-administered program provides generous financial support, mentoring, and leadership development to graduate students from minority backgrounds who aspire to teach in our nation’s schools of nursing.

Joining the 53 scholars previously selected for this prestigious honor (and a similar program offered by AACN and The California Endowment) are the following students, all of whom are enrolled in PhD nursing programs:

(Pictured from left to right)

  • Deidre Bales-Poirot, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Hershaw Davis, Jr., University of Virginia
  • Paule V. Joseph, University of Pennsylvania
  • Melody Norris Waller, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
  • Yenupini Joyce Tonlaar, Michigan State University

“Nursing’s academic leaders recognize a strong connection between a culturally diverse nursing workforce and the ability to provide quality patient care,” said AACN President Jane Kirschling. “We are grateful to the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future for sharing our commitment to facilitating academic progression in nursing and removing barriers to doctoral-level education for nurses from diverse backgrounds.”

More details and photos of this year’s scholarship recipients are posted on the AACN Web site at www.aacn.nche.edu/students/scholarships/J-JScholars13.pdf.

The Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future–AACN Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars Program was launched in September 2007 to support full-time minority students with an interest in teaching. This program invites applications from students in doctoral and master’s programs who will serve as nurse faculty after completing their degree programs. Scholarship recipients were selected by a 15-member review committee (see below) with awards in the amount of $18,000 each disbursed in the fall. All scholarship recipients are expected to attend AACN’s annual faculty development conference in February 2014 and meet regularly with an identified mentor who will assist in preparing Faculty Scholars to assume leadership roles in academia.

Leading Efforts to Diversify Nursing Education

As a central component of AACN’s core values and strategic plan, enhancing diversity in nursing faculty and student populations has been at the forefront of the organization’s advocacy work and programming for almost two decades. AACN has effectively leveraged its resources to address this national priority since preparing a culturally diverse nursing workforce is essential to meeting the healthcare needs of the nation. By providing scholarships and leadership development opportunities to minority students pursuing graduate degrees, AACN is creating a cadre of future nurse educators and leaders of the profession. Additionally, AACN’s work as program administrator for The Robert Wood Johnson New Careers in Nursing Scholarship Program has opened the door for more than 3,000 new nurses to enter the profession, all of whom come from ethnically diverse and/or disadvantaged backgrounds.

“As the leading voice for professional nursing education, AACN will continue to use its national platform to advocate for more programs and federal resources to assist schools of nursing with their efforts to remove financial barriers to nursing education and faculty careers for all populations in need,” added Dr. Kirschling.

For more information on issues related to diversity in nursing education and AACN’s efforts to address this critical issue, see www.aacn.nche.edu/Diversity.

The Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future – AACN Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars Program Selection Committee

  • Afua Arhin, PhD, RN
    Chair, Department of Nursing, Fayetteville State University (NC)
  • Susan Baker, PhD, RN
    Dean, School of Nursing, St. Petersburg College (FL)
  • Daisy Cruz-Richman, PhD, RN
    Dean, College of Nursing, SUNY Downstate Medical Center (NY)
  • James A. Fain, PhD, RN, BC-ADM, FAAN
    Dean and Professor, College of Nursing, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • Carolina G. Huerta, EdD, RN, FAAN
    Nursing Department Chair and Lillian O. Slemp Endowed Professor, University of Texas-Pan American
  • Cheryl D. Johnson-Joy, PhD, RN
    Associate Dean and Professor, Division of Nursing, Baptist College of Health Sciences (TN)
  • Deborah E. Jones, PhD, RN, CNE
    Dean, Associate Professor, School of Nursing, Hampton University (VA)
  • Eden Kan, PhD, RN
    Assistant Professor, School of Nursing, The Catholic University of America (DC)
  • Ruena Norman, PhD, RN
    Interim Dean, School of Nursing, Florida A&M University
  • Bobbie K. Reddick, EdD, RN
    Chair, BSN Program, Winston Salem State University (NC)
  • Norma Martinez Rogers, PhD, RN, FAAN
    Associate Clinical Professor, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Patsy L. Ruchala, DNSc, RN
    Director and Professor, Orvis School of Nursing, University of Nevada-Reno
  • Maria Elena Ruiz, PhD, RN, FNP-BC
    Assistant Adjunct Professor, School of Nursing, University of California Los Angeles
  • Yvonne Stringfield, EdD, RN
    Associate Professor, Department of Nursing, Delaware State University
  • Lin Zhan, PhD, RN, FAAN
    Professor and Dean, Loewenberg School of Nursing, University of Memphis (TN)

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for university and four-year college education programs in nursing. Representing more than 730 member schools of nursing at public and private institutions nationwide, AACN's educational, research, governmental advocacy, data collection, publications, and other programs work to establish quality standards for bachelor's- and graduate-degree nursing education, assist deans and directors to implement those standards, influence the nursing profession to improve health care, and promote public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research, and practice. Learn more at www.aacn.nche.edu.