WASHINGTON, D.C., March 6, 2020 – The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is pleased to announce that 30 nursing faculty from across the nation have been selected to participate in the 2020 AACN-Apple Digital Innovation Bootcamp: From Content to Action, which will be held April 24-27 in Austin, Texas.

In keeping with association's strategic goal to serve as the driving force for innovation and excellence in academic nursing, AACN launched this initiative to provide new opportunities for nursing faculty to leverage the latest technology to enhance learning in the classroom, laboratory, online, and clinical settings. Those invited to participate in this highly interactive event will enjoy sessions on preparing digital content, developing iOS mobile apps and multi-touch books, and creating an engaging learning environment.

"Nurse educators must be open to embracing new technology and exploring fresh approaches to teaching in order to satisfy the diverse learning needs of today's nursing student," said AACN President and Chief Executive Officer Deborah Trautman. "I am so pleased to welcome the latest cohort of nursing faculty to this year's Bootcamp and look forward to the innovations that will result from this unique immersion experience."

Following a competitive application process that was completed by more than 100 nursing faculty and staff, the following individuals were selected to attend the bootcamp:

  • Roxie Barnes, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Macy Bennett, Indiana University East
  • Will Brewer, University of North Alabama
  • Jaclyn Conelius, Fairfield University
  • Victoria Davis, University of South Carolina
  • Cynthia DeLanie, Midland University
  • Shermel Edwards-Maddox, University of Houston
  • Kelly Foltz-Ramos, University at Buffalo
  • Kristina Fortes, California State University Fullerton
  • Kelly Goebel, Florida Gulf Coast University
  • Tina Gustin, Old Dominion University
  • Brad Harrell, University of Memphis
  • Robin Harris, University of Tennessee Knoxville
  • Dayna Herrera, California Baptist University
  • Natalie Heywood, Arizona State University
  • Jeffrey Hutchins, The University of Southern Maine
  • Erin Kelley, Northern Kentucky University
  • Rebecca Lee, Barry University
  • Joanne Loos, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Yolanda Nelson, The College of New Jersey
  • Brandi Pravecek, South Dakota State University
  • Audra Rankin, University of Louisville
  • Cynthia Rubbelke, Saint Louis University
  • Sharon Schaaf, University of New Mexico
  • Suzanne Soltysik, St. Bonaventure University
  • Lisa Taylor, Texas Wesleyan University
  • Laura Valle, Mount St. Joseph University
  • Debra Walker, Indiana Wesleyan University
  • Daria Waszak, Felician University
  • Amy White, Washburn University

Program participants come from 21 states and represent an array of institution types, including small liberal arts programs, public and private schools, and large academic health centers. Those attending will share details about their individual projects produced as part of this immersion experience at an upcoming AACN conference, which may include one of the following:

AACN is grateful to the following members of the AACN Faculty Leadership Network (FLN) and two alumni faculty from the 2018 bootcamp, who were instrumental in selecting bootcamp participants:

  • Sharon Dormire, Texas A&M University
  • Jenny Erkfitz, Aspen University
  • Susan Malkemes, Wilkes University
  • Rhonda Maneval, Pace University
  • Lisa Merritt, University of Missouri, Saint Louis (2018 Bootcamp Alumni)
  • Brenda Morris, Arizona State University
  • Patricia Richards, University of Texas Medical Branch (2018 Bootcamp Alumni)

For more information about the AACN-Apple Collaboration, see the bootcamp event page.


About the American Association of Colleges of Nursing

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for academic nursing representing 840 schools of nursing nationwide. AACN establishes quality standards for nursing education, influences the nursing profession to improve health care, and promotes public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research and practice. For information, visit www.aacnnursing.org.

Why Choose Us


scholarship money awarded from the Mount Carmel Foundation in 2023


2023 NCLEX-RN pass rate


of graduates employed within 12 months (2021 grads)