On November 13, a record 113 new members were inducted into the Rho Omicron Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, the honor society of nursing, during a festive and dynamic ceremony held in the Medical Staff Building at Mount Carmel West. The inductees consisted of students and nurses from the undergraduate program, the RN-BSN program, the graduate program and community leaders.

All in attendance had the opportunity to listen to a presentation given by President and Dean Christine Wynd PhD, RN, who emphasized that every nurse is a leader. She encouraged nurses to use their voice, embrace leadership ability and inspire and lead others to contribute to the nursing profession. She also challenged the newly inducted to be open to change, be progressive and own scholarship through continuing higher education and participating in academic scholarly work.

Eligibility for membership into Rho Omicron includes:

  • Senior students of the baccalaureate program who are in the top 35% of their graduating class
  • Second Degree Accelerated Program students who have completed half of their nursing curriculum and are in top 35% of their class.
  • Students in Baccalaureate Program who are in the upper 35% of the graduating class and have completed half of their nursing program
  • Students in Graduate Program who have completed one-fourth of their program.
  • Community leaders who demonstrate leadership or achievement in nursing are invited into membership. Contributions by these individuals include achievements in research, publication, administration, consulting, practice or education.

Mount Carmel College of Nursing established its own chapter, Rho Omicron, of STTI in April 2002. STTI is a national organization committed to nursing excellence through service, research, leadership, scholarship, knowledge and professional development all centered on improving world health.

Back to The Carmel Rapper

Why Choose Us


student-to-faculty ratio


years of educating nurses


2023 NCLEX-RN pass rate