Congrats to the 2016 Mount Carmel Excellence in Nursing awardees from MCCN who were recognized at a special ceremony held September 13 at Villa Milano. The Excellence in Nursing Awards event, sponsored annually by Mount Carmel College of Nursing and Mount Carmel Patient Care Services, is now in its 12th year. Mount Carmel Health System recognized these outstanding nurse educators, nursing education advocates, nurses and nurse leaders who exemplify devotion to patients, dedication to the nursing profession and diligence in providing outstanding evidence-based care.

More than 300 people attended the event which included Mount Carmel Health awardees, colleagues, families and friends.Our MCCN awardees, listed below, were also highlighted in a recognition ad featured in the Columbus Dispatch:

  • Brenda Beyer, MSN, RN
  • Kim Campbell, PhD
  • Shirley Cooley, PhD, RN
  • Kerry Fankhauser , MSN, RN, UZIT
  • Kathy Fernandez, PhD, RN
  • Frieda Gill, MSN, RN, CCRN
  • Hannah O’Handley, MSN, RN, PNP
  • Michelle Richards, BA
  • Sonya Saffell, MSN, FNP-BC
  • Kathy Sommers, BSN, MBA, EdD, RN
  • Joanna Worthington, MS

The awards were presented by MCCN President Christine Wynd, PhD, RN, assisted by Jill Kilanowski, PhD, RN, APRN, CPNP, FAAN, and Scott Dolan, PhD, RN. In addition to 99 nurses, five nurse leaders and six nurses of the year from the system’s care sites, along with 11 nurse educators and advocates from the College, five physicians were also honored. Colleagues select nurse honorees as part of an annual system-wide nomination process held in May; nurses nominate physician honorees for their collaborative interaction with nurses.

A special thank you goes out to the Marketing and College Relations team of Robin Hutchinson Bell, BA; Joanna Worthington, MS; and Alison Baker who assisted in planning and implementing the event.

Check out the evening’s video presentation featuring 2010 MCCN alum, Luke Vohsing, BSN, MBA, RN.

Back to The Carmel Rapper

Why Choose Us


scholarship money awarded from the Mount Carmel Foundation in 2023


student-to-faculty ratio


years of educating nurses